Basic Law: Jerusalem, Capital of Israel

1967 Occupied Territories

After the war of 1967 the Israeli government decided to annex approximately 70,500 dunams of the occupied territory to the north, east and south of Jerusalem (now known as East Jerusalem). The state exercised the decision through the addition of Article 11b to the Administration and Law Ordinance, which authorizes the government of Israel to apply Israeli law in all areas that were within mandatory Palestine.

In 1980, the Knesset passed Basic Law: Jerusalem, Capital of Israel, which states in Article 1 that "Jerusalem, complete and united, is the capital of Israel." In 2000, the Basic Law was amended in order to provide a legal and constitutional defense for the application of Israeli law in East Jerusalem and to also limit the ability to change the city’s “area” and jurisdiction.

Full Text